Truth Be Told goes Underground

30 Oct 2015
Truth Be Told release first track on Ministry of Sound compilation. SAE Institute

Liverpool DJ duo Bruce Stein and Tommy Lamb aka, Truth Be Told are celebrating releasing their first track ‘Tick’ on the Ministry of Sound’s latest compilation, Underground 2015.

The two house and techno music enthusiasts meteoric rise was given a massive boost when top Canadian techno DJ Richie Hawtin played a track from their EP, Too Much Time during his set at Space Ibiza.

Stein, 25, who recently graduated with a 2:1 Audio Production degree from SAE Institute Liverpool teamed up with his childhood friend to form Truth Be Told, creating a rapidly growing fan base and list of credits.

Since their first release two years ago their careers have spun to the top with an impressive 3,500 SoundCloud followers and an incredible amount of plays reaching the No 15 slot in the Beatport Tech House Charts.

Stein was quick point out how studying for an Audio Production degree at SAE had been key to his success, adding, “ Studying at SAE Institute gives you the ‘production bug’. You find yourself surrounded by like-minded people, which for me brought out the hidden production skills that I had.

“I’d considered a career in live sound, but found during my studies at SAE I was able to gain valuable experience and learn how a professional studio works which has played a major part in recording of Truth Be Told releases”.

Stein now spends much of his time writing and producing and currently working on remixes, collaborations and releases with other highly established labels while playing and supporting the big names around the UK and European club scene.

Most recently playing the Puur Festival after party in the Netherlands, with the next stop being High House at Antwerp’s prestigious Club Baroque in September.

Truth Be Told, they have certainly come a long way since their early days playing sets at the legendary Liverpool Picket.

The Truth Be Told Discography:

First release: Too Much Time EP. Richie Hawtin played a track called You from the EP at Space Ibiza. The leading track Tick has recently been featured on Ministry of Sound’s latest album Underground 2015.

Second release: Fuxx It Up EP. Released on Hector Couto’s label, Roush. Leading track Mr. Fuxx played my wAFF on Paradise Boiler Room and the B-side What is House by Darius Syrossian on Ibiza Sankeys 20th Anniversary live stream.

Third big release: Sonnen featured on a VA with Cera Alba & Black Loops. Released on Santé & Sidney Charles label AVOTRE. It reached No.15 in the Beatport Top Tech House charts after 12 days of release and stayed in the charts for a further 20 days.

Other notable releases. 47SOUNDS remix of Mind Freeze getting some credible support from Max Chapman, Dale Howard, Philip George. Another remix (Apollo84’s Evolution) released on legendary New York label, King Street Sounds.

Future releases: An EP on Resonance Records (Max Chapman’s label) with a remix from Max Chapman & No Artificial Colours. A remix on Love Not Money Records for Andy Lee and his track The Groove. Both due for release September 2015.