Below is a list of members of the SAE Academic Board as well as the Board of Directors.
At the bottom of the page you can view the minutes from the Board of Directors meetings.

Board of Directors

Emily Culverhouse


Emily is a barrister specialising in criminal and data protection law. She is also a Chiltern District Councillor, for which she is a member of the Thames Valley Police and Crime Panel, Chairman of the Appeals and Complaints sub-committee of the same and is a Chesham Town Councillor. Following a busy year as Chesham’s Town Mayor she continues to be heavily involved in the local community as Chairman of the Chesham Society, a founding member and presenter with Chiltern Voice Community Radio, Chairman of the Board of Trustees for The Theatre Shed and she has been fundamental in setting up the local Youth Council.

Mark Rann

For the last 15 years Mark has been working in Social housing, most recently as the head of business development for a small housing association. Social housing is Mark’s second career, previously he has spent 10 years working in Television as an Assistant Producer for sports programmes, he worked for the BBC, Channel 5 & Channel 4, as well as numerous independent production companies. In addition to his day job, he also run a comedy club, has an agency for comedians, a production company and an outside catering company. In his spare time he is the founder and director of Chiltern Voice radio a community radio station serving the Chilterns.

Steffan Davies

Steffan Davies is the UK Managing Director & General Manager of SAE Institute – the world’s largest independent creative media education provider. Steff brings to SAE a wealth of experience in finance and operational functions across a range of education institutions, that provides a unique platform to spearhead the UK’s strategic direction. During a recent two-year secondment in Australia to SAE’s parent company, Navitas, Steffan gained deep insight into the international market and led on a number of major projects traversing public-private partnerships, growth and divestment, IT, infrastructure and property. With a keen interest in technology and its role in the changing landscape of education, Steffan believes that delivering the best possible student experiences and forging strong employment pathways through industry engagement are critical to ensure positive graduate outcomes. Through his leadership, the SAE UK team will continue to develop the next generation of creatives, digital leaders and entrepreneurs to join the ranks of SAE’s Grammy Award and BAFTA winning alumni.

Jacqui Coffin

Jacqui Coffin is the Director of Business Development - UK for the University Partners Europe division of Navitas. She joined the group as part of SAE in September 2014. She is a chartered accountant, and trained in London with PwC. She worked at Kingfisher plc, in several roles including as Strategy Manager, and most recently as Head of Strategy and Business Development in the Careers and Industry division of Navitas.

Kevin Sandhu

Kevin joined SAE in 2013 following 10 years of financial and strategic experience in the Banking sector. During this time he held a number of commercial and management roles with responsibilities including Corporate Reporting, Financial Planning & Analysis and Project Governance. He has a Bachelor of Science Joint Honours degree in Mathematics & Economics from the University of Wales, Swansea and is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered and Certified Accountants. He currently holds the position of Chief Operating Officer for Careers & Industry Division of Navitas.







Academic Board Members

Terry Butland


Dr Arthur Terrence David Butland OBE, known as Dr Terry Butland, is a physicist, who has worked at very senior levels in the British nuclear industry, and in British higher education, becoming Deputy Vice Chancellor and Deputy Chief Executive of Middlesex University. He has a BA (Honours) Natural Sciences (physics) degree from Cambridge University and a PhD from Bath University. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, a Chartered Physicist and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Commerce, and has an honorary degree from Middlesex University. He was awarded an OBE by the Queen in the 2012 New Year Honours List for his services to higher education.

Russell Pearson

Russell Pearson has had a long and varied career, both in Industry and education. After graduating Hull University, he embarked on a career in software training in the oil industry based in Brunei Borneo. After a number of years, he decided it was time to change career, and he moved back to the UK and started teaching in the college sector. During this time, he undertook further qualifications including a Master’s Degree in technology.
He then moved into the University sector where he quickly became involved in research and teaching in Media Technologies. In 1987 Russell was the Associate Dean of the London College of Music and Media responsible for the technology related programmes. Later he moved to Middlesex University where this continued and was the Associate Dean for the Faculty of Technology. During his time at Middlesex he was heavily involved in a range of overseas initiatives and campuses, including Mauritius, Dubai, culminating in being appointed Campus Director of the Middlesex Delhi
campus. Since giving up full-time work Russell has also been campus Director of the Greenwich Campus in Colombo Sri Lanka and currently external examiner for the University of Northampton and University of Teesside. Russell was made a life member of BAFTA in 1999, and spends his time between homes in London and Spain. He is also a magistrate of the North Essex Bench.

Stephen Jukes

Stephen Jukes is Professor of Journalism at Bournemouth University. His research focuses on objectivity and emotion in news with an emphasis on affect, trauma and conflict journalism. He was previously a foreign correspondent and global Head of News at the international news agency Reuters.

Victoria Reddish

Originally from New Zealand, Victoria has lived and worked in the UK for over a decade in the HE sector. She is currently the Quality Enhancement Manager for Partnerships and Quality Monitoring at Middlesex University and leads a small team who are responsible for all institutional approvals and re-approvals of partners as well as the University’s own Annual Monitoring and Enhancement process.

Minutes/Financial Statements

Corporate Information